Cita

Two Right Feet

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Two Right Feet.”

I, by definition, am not a morning person. At all. For my entire life, the sound of my alarm going off signaled the end of happiness for a few hours. (Yeah, I was that dramatic). It got so bad I had to set my alarm at least 20 minutes earlier than I actually had to get up in order to snooze it until I felt somewhat guilty and got up.

Recently though, I changed it up a bit. I joined a gym and then, one day, decided to do the unthinkable: I was going to go the Gym before class. Normally, the wouldn’t seem like a big deal, but my classes start at seven. That meant working out at 5:00AM. I will not lie, I do not do this every day, I usually do it on Mondays when I have both morning and night classes and on Fridays because I fully intend to make the best of happy hour after work.

Seriously though, there is something I absolutely love about going to the Gym at this hour. Maybe its the stillness outside, maybe its the fact that there are only like 5 other people that work out at this time, maybe its because it energizes me for the rest of the morning. Whenever I do the 5:00AM thing, I find myself in a better mood and even feel better about myself. When I get home, I shower to whatever playlist I’m trying out and when I arrive to class, instead of being a zombie like everyone else, my drowsiness is long gone.

I don’t have the strength to wake up at that ungodly hour every day (to be clear, I consider 11:00AM to be a decent wake up time), but I do have the motivation to it whenever necessary and perhaps that knowledge is what makes it all better.

Responder

